January favourites

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

I have actually been using these items every single day. Okay, maybe one day of the week I would switch the lippy but that says a lot being that I’m a lippy obsessed girl who has a bunch of lippies to use. Read on for more details~

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

E.l.f Beautifully Precise Airbrush Blender:  These brushes! They’re super soft and blend like a dream. I’m so glad I bought two. I use one of them for applying blush and the other for applying contour or blending everything together. What makes this brush so unique is the way that it’s shaped. As you can see from the image above (they’re both the same brushes, just one flipped over), the brush is slightly slanted to flawlessly apply contour to cheekbones, while the softness of the brush gently (and not harshly) applies blush. That’s the reason why I bought this brush; it’s like having a multi-purpose brush. Also, at just $10 each, why not?
Get them here: http://www.elfcosmetics.com/p/beautifully-precise-airbrush-blender?Dept=tools-single-brushes

L’Oreal Brow Stylist Definer in Dark Brunette: I’m so glad I purchased these on a whim. I had no idea if they were good or not and they turned out to be my holy grail eyebrow pencil. This is the only eyebrow product I use and need on my brows now, and I have seriously gone through 4 of these already and I will keep using them until they stop selling them (which I hope is never). In the morning, when I’m getting ready for work, I do not have the time to spend on my brows so this product is everything for me. I have tried countless drugstore brow pencils but this one is different. It’s not too waxy and the colour is pigmented enough to look natural and fill in the sparse areas of my brows. I love it! I have even tried the Anastasia brow products before this and although I liked them, this pencil is a much better cheaper alternative that actually works better for me. I got them at Wal Mart or Shopper’s Drugmart but you can get them at any drugstore.

Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed Highlighter in Champagne Pop: This was given to me as a birthday gift and I’ve used it everyday ever since [insert heart eyed emoji here]. I haven’t tried much highlighters, only the Colourpop ones (which are also nice), but I already think this one is so unique; it’s like a blend of light gold and silver pigment.  The name says it all; it pops on your skin. It’s light enough to even use it on a work day, depending on how much you apply. I honestly just use my finger to dab it on the high points of my cheeks and it gives me the highlight that I need. Although it is price-y, I feel like it would last for sooo long. I use it everyday and haven’t hit pan on it yet. So worth it.
Get it here: http://www.sephora.com/shimmering-skin-perfector-pressed-P381176?skuId=1721240&icid2=products%20grid:p381176

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Mood Light: I bought this during Sephora’s VIB sale. I wasn’t even aiming to get this but I saw that this was a mini version of the actual size and thought why not try it out. I like soft lavender pink shades on the skin and thought this would be like a MAC strobe cream but in powder form; it actually isn’t. This powder is more pink than the strobe cream but a softer flattering pink with a lavender hue. To be honest, when I was first trying it out, I didn’t like it. I was almost going to exchange it UNTIL I learned how to make it work for me. At first, I was using it as a highlighter (applying it to the high points of my cheeks). I just couldn’t see how flattering it was to my face. But then one day, I tried to use it as a blush instead and I love it!!! It’s such a gentle or subtle pink blush for me, as I don’t like bright-coloured blushes for everyday. It gives me a flattering flush in every lighting.
I’m not sure if you can still get the mini size but the full size is here: http://www.sephora.com/ambient-lighting-powder-P377723?skuId=1483536&icid2=products%20grid%3Ap377723

Too Faced Melted Matte Liquified Long Wear Matte Lipstick in Cool Girl: This one is actually the second shade I have from this line. I also have the shade Sell Out, which I also loved but I have been reaching for the other one more these days. This Too Faced line seriously has the best liquid lipstick formula that I have tried (and I tried a lot of liquid lippies- from Colourpop to Anastasia). It’s so comfortable on the lips and the pigment is amazing. Cool Girl is described as a matte true nude, and for my skin tone it truly is. It’s like a “my lips but better” shade. It’s hard to find a good nude lippy that isn’t too pale/ doesn’t wash out my skin tone; I finally found the one. I actually had a cashier from this greek fast food place ask me to write down the name of my lippy shade on a napkin hahah. I’m telling you, it’s the perfect nude.
Get it here: http://www.sephora.com/melted-matte-liquified-long-wear-matte-lipstick-P407636?skuId=1789346&icid2=products%20grid%3Ap407636

And just for the heck of it, here’s me wearing/using all of these products:

photogrid_1483415778728

3 thoughts on “January favourites

Leave a Reply

